Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder
Trugbilder

Trugbilder

2017 – HD, 11:20 min, dreikanalige Videoprojektion

Auf drei Videoprojektionen zeigen Zauberkünstler ihre Tricks. Die einzelnen Sequenzen haben wechselnde Einstellungsgrößen und Bildformate. Sie werden nicht kommentiert oder erklärt. Man hört nur die Geräusche ihrer Aktionen. Das Setting ist nüchtern und wie bei einer Versuchsanordnung. Gegenstände werden verwandelt oder verschwinden, Objektgrenzen werden durchlässig, Zerstückelungen nahtlos wieder aneinandergefügt.

Zauberkünstler betrügen - und gerade das fasziniert uns. Bei der Zauberei geht es wie beim Film (und anderen Medien) vor allem um die Schaffung von Illusionen. Historisch gesehen ist die Zauberkunst ein direkter Vorläufer des Films. So übernahm George Meliés 1888 das Theater des Magiers Jean Eugène Robert-Houdin und verwandelte es 1896 in ein Kino. Angeregt durch die Filmpioniere August und Louis Lumière, die im gleichen Gebäude ein Atelier hatten, kombinierte Meliés seine eigenen Zauberkunst mit den Tricktechniken des Films.

Zauberkünstler: Jan Gerken, Kolja Kaldun, Lisa Spirit, Felix Wohlfarth Kamera: Thomas Kutschker, Assistenz: Elisa Goméz Alvarez, Büke Schwarz Schnitt: Anna Anders, Postproduktion: Franziska Röhlig, Tonmischung: Christian Obermaier

Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages
Trugbilder / Mirages

Trugbilder / Mirages

2017 – HD, 11:20 min, three-channel video projection

In a dark space on three video projection screens one can see magicians performing their tricks. The sequences have different setting sizes and image formats. There are no comments or explanations, only the noises of their actions can be heard. The setting is rather sober and similar to a scientific experiment focused on the sole hand movements. Because of the simultaneity of the sequences it is hard to follow how the magic tricks work.

We know that magicians try to cheat us by their skills and dexterities, but exactly because of that, we follow their activities with great interest to detect the secret.

Film and magic art create illusions. Historically film is an advancement and expansion of magic art. 1888 the theatre of the magician Robert-Houdin has been taken over by the illusionist and film pioneer George Meliés. The Lumière brothers have rent a studio in the same building. Inspired by their film screenings, Meliès changed his Théâtre 1896 into a cinema. Meliès produced several hundred movies in a row by combining his conjuring tricks with the animation effects of film.

Magicians: Jan Gerken, Kolja Kaldun, Lisa Spirit, Felix Wohlfarth master of photography: Thomas Kutschker; assistance: Elisa Goméz Alvarez, Büke Schwarz editing: Anna Anders; post production: Franziska Röhlig; sound mixing: Christian Obermaier